Toronto Marathon expo part two

So I headed back to the Toronto Marathon expo this afternoon. There were a few things I decided I wanted to pick up and I kinda like the race expos (despite their danger to my pocketbook).

There were little to no lines today, so I wonder if the craziness yesterday was a combination of a lot of early people combined with volunteers getting into their groove. Today there was a lot better flow and things seemed to be going very well.

book26-2

I picked up an Asics winter running hat, a container of Vega (I’ll be having a seperate post about how much I love Vega!), and a copy of 26.2 Marathon Stories that I had signed by the authors Kathrine Switzer and Roger Robinson. Kathrine was incredibly nice and sweet. She wrote: “The marathon is a nice prize, but the real victory is embracing the process. Love it and go for it!

I’m not relaxing at home, have had my final meal ;-) and am getting my race essentials together:

  • Shoes
  • Socks
  • Shirt and Shorts
  • Hat
  • Sunglasses
  • Watch and pace band
  • Body Glide (no bloody 11’s!)
  • Water belt
  • Bib and chip
  • Ipod (I know, bad runner)
  • Post-race nutrition
  • Towel and change of clothing as well as a sweater and tear aways for before the race.

I’ll have a post at some point tomorrow with my results, photos and the like! Think good no-bonking thoughts for me!

3 responses to “Toronto Marathon expo part two

  1. Good luck! Can’t wait to hear how you did.

  2. Good luck Matt. I know I will see you there but wanted to write it as well.

    One word about iPod… because it totally irks me when people tell you listening to music at a race is bad. I hate hate hate it… it’s what works for YOU that is good. So please, no bad runner because you want to listen to music as you race ok? :)

    Having said that, kick ass tomorrow!

  3. Good luck Matt! Have a great run!!!!
    :-)

Leave a Reply

