2009 Scotiabank Toronto Waterfront Marathon

I really happy to be starting this blog off on a high note. Yesterday I completed my first half marathon at the Scotiabank Toronto Waterfront Marathon! It was a fantastic event, well organized and the weather was awesome (cool, overcast and very little wind)! It’s hard to put into words the emotions of completing this event for the first time after months and months of training.

Fartlekrunner3

I had set several goals for myself. The first was, “I just want to complete.” Then it was “I just want to complete in under 2 hours.” Finally it was, “wouldn’t it be awesome if I could complete it in 1:45!” (see bottom of post for my results)

One moment I’ll never forget was coming west on Lakeshore Blvd a few km away from the turn-around and seeing the lead pack of runners coming east on the other side. The grace and ease with which them moved was awe-inspiring. Later I found out that they averaged 3 minutes and 11 seconds per km – fasting than most can sprint – for over two hours!

One of those elite runners set a new Canadian marathon record — Kenneth Mungara of Kenya, completing the course in 2:08! Like the t-shirts say, “In my dreams, I’m a Kenyan.”

I’m still riding the high of the event and am looking at what races I’d like to do next. I’m thinking I might register late and run the half marathon at the Goodlife Toronto Marathon on Sunday, October 18. Regardless, I’m looking at running the full Ottawa Marathon next May and will be starting that training in the months to come.

Results:

Place: 1035

Final Time: 1:49:50

Pace (km): 5:13

Real Time: 1:44:45

Gender (place/total): 821/3411

Category (place/total): 122/446

Category: Men 25-29

@ 10km split: 47:57

10-21km split: 56:49

2 responses to “2009 Scotiabank Toronto Waterfront Marathon

  1. > bonus points if you leave me a comment!

    Look, you’re a superhero!

    (You didn’t say it had to be a GOOD comment. Just be glad I didn’t say something sexy about your legs. >:-P )

Leave a Reply

