Eat-Clean Cookbook giveaway!

Training for the marathon continues and we’ve entered hill territory — four repeats last night and five next Wednesday. In addition, I continue to chug away at the 22 minutes in 10lbs challenge I set for myself a few weeks ago (five pounds down, five to go). But to get on with the topic of today’s post — Food and a giveaway!

Eat-Clean Diet Cookbook

The Eat-Clean Diet Cookbook is by Tosca Reno — a successful author (of ten books), motivational speaker, wellness consultant, media personality and model (gracing the covers of Oxygen Magazine). I was first introduced to her books by my parents of all people. After my father retired, they made some dietary changes based on Tosca’s books that were very successful. Beyond weight loss, the recipes in this cookbook are healthy, easy to make, and most importantly, tasty.

In addition to giving me permission to post some recipes from the cookbook, the people at Robert Kennedy Publishing have been generous enough to also provide a copy for me to giveaway to a Fartlek Runner reader! Here is how it’ll work. Each Friday, for the month of March, I’ll post a recipe from The Eat-Clean Diet Cookbook. Simply post a comment to any or all of the Eat-Clean posts, and I’ll enter you onto a list in the order that I received your comment(s) (make sure to include an e-mail with your comment so I can contact you). A winner will be chosen using a random number generator, and announced in the Wednesday, March 31 post. Easy peasy and you could win an awesome cookbook to fuel your running!

To kick things off on a light note, this is one of my favourite recipes to have with veggies in my lunch at work. I make this dip at least twice a month. It’s very low in calories and fat, making it a guiltless way to make cut raw veggies and crackers more interesting. To repeat, this recipe is from The Eat-Clean Diet Cookbook, by Tosca Reno and published by Robert Kennedy Publishing.

Tofu and Curry Dip

Makes 12, one-TBSP Servings

Ingredients:

  • 6oz / 168g silken tofu
  • 1½ Tbsp / 23ml fresh lemon juice
  • 2 Tbsp / 30ml best-quality olive oil
  • ¼ tsp / 1.25ml sea salt
  • 2 Tbsp / 30ml chopped green onion
  • ½ tsp / 2.5ml curry powder
  • 1 Tbsp / 15ml parsley
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced

Preparation:

  1. Place all ingredients in a food processor and pulse until just combined. Do not over-process. Cover and refrigerate.
  2. Serve with crudités as a healthy dip alternative, spread on wraps with grilled chicken, or anywhere else you would like a delicious shot of creamy flavor.

Nutritional value per one-Tbsp serving:

Calories: 28 | Calories form fat: 22 | Protein: 1g | Carbs: 0.5g | Dietary Fiber: 0g | Sugars: 0g | Fat: 2g | Sodium: 43mg

5 responses to “Eat-Clean Cookbook giveaway!

  1. Hey, Matt.

    I remember this dip! You served it to me, and I really loved it.

    And I thought you slaved over a hot stove to make it….LOL

  2. Is the book vegan (I’m assuming it is, since you’re the one posting the recipes…)? If so, I want to be entered in the draw plz! :)

    And that recipe looks delicious. Tofu? Yum! Curry? Yum! I’m adding it onto my list of yummies to try.

  3. I was almost randomly searching for recipes with tofu and I got to this!
    Good recipe and a giveaway to top it!
    I hope that someone from Portugal can enter, but if not, I will copy the recipes you post here.
    ;)

  4. I love this dip. I found it to be a bit thin though, so I added a tablespoon or two of ground flax seed and let it sit for about 10 minutes to thicken. Delish!!

  5. Susan Knights

    This looks fabulous
    I am going to have to try this one for sure.
    I really loved the Dal recipe you posted a little while ago.

Leave a Reply

